Written by: Katherine Nocera

Hello everyone! I feel that we’ve known each other long enough for me to share three facts about myself. Fact #1: I have a small Maltese dog named Rocky (after Rocky Balboa, in case you were wondering). Fact #2: I love the movie Titanic. Mostly because it features young Leonardo DiCaprio….what’s not to love about that? Fact #3: I am the worst at navigating. If I were asked to drive to Florida, I’d probably end up in Los Angeles. I don’t even know if that’s technically possible but, trust me, I’d find a way. This fact is terribly difficult considering I am a student who often takes the bus to and from school. However, I’ve managed to find my way home and to school many times (whew!) Here’s a couple of tricks I’ve learned when travelling on Durham Transit…

  1. Use Triplinxhttp://transit.toronto.on.ca/archives/weblog/2012/02/23-drt_buying.shtml

Triplinx is a website and an app that offers trip planning for the Greater Toronto Area. Honestly, this website and app has been a saviour for me! It is really simple to use and understand. All you have to do is put in where you are, where you want to go, a set time,
press “Plan Trip” and BAM a list of bus schedules pop up. It’s actually quite magical if you ask me. I highly suggest using this source for all your Durham Transit scheduling.

  1. Double check that you’re catching the bus in the right direction!

This tip has unfortunately developed from experience. On my way home from school one day, I quickly went onto Triplink and forgot to check if my bus was the 910 southbound or northbound. Not knowing any directions, I did “eeny, meeny, miny, moe” and chose to get on the 910 southbound. Guess what? I was supposed to get on the 910 northbound. I ended up on the other end of Oshawa! Which leads me to my next point…

  1. Don’t be afraid to ask for help.

While having my mini crisis, I realized that I had no idea what bus to take to get back to where I needed to go. So, my survival mode kicked in and I thought of the brilliant idea to ask the bus driver. Who else would know the bus routes better than a bus driver? No one. The answer is no one. Unless, you’re one of those people who is naturally born with the ability to navigate. In that case, I want to be you… Anyway, I told the bus driver about my current situation and he kindly told me exactly what bus to take and where to get off. Crisis averted!

I hope you all follow my 3 easy tips for taking Durham Transit! I guarantee it will make your life A LOT easier! And don’t forget that we get a free DRT pass as TrentU Durham students! Until next time…

Ciao. xx

Posted by TrentUDurham

Leave a Reply

