Written by: Jillian Yuill 

I get it: after a long semester, it feels like you need a break from school for the summer. But have you ever considered that taking a summer course might actually be the academic boost you need? Take it from someone who loves summer classes: you can’t go wrong when you register for summer courses.

I have taken many summer courses over the years. Sometimes it was to get ahead in my course load, and other times to diversify my knowledge. Whatever the reason, I have never regretted it, and here’s why:

Undivided attention: Between smaller class sizes and no other assignments competing for my attention, I had better focus and was more dedicated. I’ve earned some of my highest grades in summer classes.

Interest in the subject: I love to read young adult novels, so when Children’s Literature became available as a summer course, I jumped to sign up. Because I was so interested in the topic, the condensed reading schedule wasn’t only manageable, but enjoyable. Besides, any readings are more fun when you do it in the sunshine with a glass of lemonade!

group of young students boys and girls on university campusGetting it over with: The opposite of my last comment is also true. I dreaded taking a composition class, but knew it would improve my writing. I opted to take it in the summer because the condensed scheduled meant it would be over twice as fast. Funny enough, I ended up loving the class!

Getting ahead: By taking summer courses, I reduce my course load the following year. The year my son was born, I was able to take a semester off without compromising my ideal graduation date. For others, a reduced course load could mean more time to devote to studying, being able to work more, or just enjoying life.

Exploring other programs: Have you considered switching majors but are too afraid to take the plunge? Maybe your required courses haven’t allowed you to explore a wide range of electives that peak your interest. Summer courses are a great way to explore other disciplines before making the switch.

If these don’t make you consider summer courses, don’t forget these bonus perks:

  • Lots of parking and quiet places to study on campus
  • Getting to study in the sunshine with a cold drink
  • Online courses can allow you to be flexible with your study schedule

So take the summer plunge and sign up for a summer course today!


The 2016 summer course schedule is now posted at www.trentu.ca/summer and registration is open now!  Make sure to register today to get your spot in one of these awesome classes!

Hear from some other students who enjoy summer classes

Posted by TrentUDurham

Leave a Reply

