Written by: Katherine Nocera

Hello everyone! If you’ve ever owned a pet, you already know how much fun and affection they can bring. I was reading an article a while ago that scientifically proves pet-owning can lead to some pretty powerful mental and physical health benefits. Who knew that my tiny maltase dog can benefit my human abilities?! Here are some benefits of owning a pet that can even help us university students improve our mental and physical health…

  1. Reduces Anxiety.

As university students, I think that we can most benefit from this fact, am I right? A recent study has proven that a companionship of a dog, can offer comfort, which helps ease anxiety, and also build self-confidence. While taking study breaks, I will sometimes go outside with my dog, maybe play fetch, and I personally find this reduces my anxiety. Also, there is something about a dog’s head nestled in your lap that evokes a feeling of calmness and relaxation. Call me crazy! But, I swear, it’s true!

  1. Increases exercise.

Did you know that dog owners are far more likely to meet their daily exercise requirements as opposed to non-dog owners? I personally enjoy taking my dog for walks around the block. I find it very therapeutic and an easy way to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life!

  1. Provides a sense of responsibility.

Not only are dogs furry and friendly but they also require a huge commitment. Dogs require a regular feeding and exercise schedule. Having a consistent routine keeps a dog balanced and calm—and it can work for you, too. Owning a dog can no doubt increase a person’s responsibility. This acquired responsibility can even translate in your own personal life. Learning routine and schedules can even help improve your academic and school life!

Now you may be reading this post and not be a dog owner but want to experience the delight dogs bring to students. I suggest meeting with one of the service dogs that come to Trent University around exam time. They are great stress relievers and also so stinking cute!

Ciao. xx

Posted by TrentUDurham

Leave a Reply

