Written by: Billie Clark

Last year, while I was studying at Swansea University in Wales, I was invited to visit some family friends and spend part of my month-long Easter Break with them. It was an opportunity I simply couldn’t pass up!

I was picked up at my residence by Anne and John and they drove me to their home in South Yorkshire. On the drive back to their home, we stopped at a National Trust heritage building for tea and a walk around. There was a display of Jane Austen drama costumes used in various productions and the sheep that lived on the farm had just given birth to lambs earlier that week, so there were itty-bitty baby lambs roaming the property.

Once we reached their hometown, we went to dinner at a pub, before heading home for the night. This marked the start of my 10-day visit to Yorkshire.

We spent my first day in Yorkshire travelling the countryside, exploring the locality, and introducing me to its history. We toured by car, and went up to the River Trent, which means that I had seen both the Trent and the Severn (which I had crossed while entering Wales). Having grown up visiting the Trent-Severn Waterway, being able to visit its namesakes was really cool!

We went to Whitby, another city to remind me of home, and visited Whitby Abbey (the inspiration for Dracula’s castle in the Bram Stoker novel) and had traditional fish and chips on the coast. The rain held off most of the day, so it was absolutely lovely.

On another day, Anne, her daughter, her son-in-law, her granddaughter, and I went to have a traditional English tea in a nearby town. It was lovely and delicious.

On Good Friday, I was taken to the city of York, to tour the museum and the city. The town was decked out for Easter and I got to see some fabulous (and ridiculously expensive) hand-crafted chocolate eggs. On Easter we went to Castle Howard and had a picnic. It was also the first time I heard a peacock shriek! I also went to the zoo and to a classic car show during my stay in Yorkshire.

I was extremely lucky to be able to visit such lovely people, and make such wonderful memories. It is an Easter that will be almost impossible to top!

Posted by TrentUDurham

Leave a Reply

