Written by: Aliisa Moffatt

In the movies they glamourize university with parties, cute boys, lots of sporting events and yet they barely show you the struggles that regular, everyday students go through. When I applied to university I was excited to make all these new friends, keep my old ones, go to parties, and have the time of my life. Boy, the movies forgot to mention the amount of reading that I would have to do. University throws some curve balls at you from time to time and it is not a walk in the park.

Being a first year student, I have had a tough time balancing, sleep, work, school and a social life. For me it took quite a while to be able to have a good balance, and I am still struggling with that because work schedules are never consistent, workloads change from semester to semester and just life in general, is not predictable. At the beginning of the year I was just going to school and going home and not doing anything other than school and work. And it sucked! So I started going to intermural soccer, hanging out with friends and spending more time at school studying. I even joined Pen Pals and started enjoying the various activities happening around campus.

Another thing that has changed is how conscious I am when it comes to spending money. I never realized how expensive tuition and text books could be until I had to start buying my own! Sure, OSAP gave me money but it doesn’t cover all of the costs. Getting a Visa bill after buying textbooks made me want to sleep for a week straight.

growing baby plantsPersonally, I think that the biggest thing that has changed is how grateful I have become. When I think about the fact that I have the opportunity to go to school and get an education, especially as a female, is absolutely incredible. Many girls and women are denied the right to an education just because they are female. I think that everyone deserves at least the chance to an education. There is a quote that sticks with me “What if the cure for cancer is inside the mind of someone who cannot afford an education?”.

When it comes to the small things in life whether it being my dad driving me to school or my boyfriend buying me dinner, I am thankful for everything because the opportunities that I have in Canada are endless.

So next time you get upset about getting a terrible grade, or it’s raining or you’re simply having a bad day, be thankful that you have the opportunity to get an education at TrentU Durham. The possibilities are endless when you’re with Trent.

Posted by TrentUDurham

Leave a Reply

