Moving Out and Moving South: How I Came to TrentU Durham

Written by: Taylor Dobbs

Hey, my name is Taylor Dobbs. I am entering the third of four years at Trent Durham, I am one of the executives of the English Society and the Improv club, and am also the reigning Lip Sync Battle champion.

Here is my origin story: I grew up in a family of 8, with my parents, my five brothers, and myself in a small town in Northern Ontario called Powassan. I have always shared everything with my brothers, most significantly my bedroom; in fact, for a couple years I shared my room with all three of my younger brothers. I guess, because of this, I have always desired my own space and independence. This became apparent when I had to decide where to go for my post-secondary education.  Fortunately, I had good grades and so had a high likelihood of getting into any university I wanted; unfortunately I had no idea where I wanted to go.

My parents wanted me to attend Nipissing in North Bay, like my older brothers before me. As it was close to home I could stay with my parents, save money, and continue the cycle set by my brothers. However, I knew that I needed something that was wholly my own and Nipissing would not work, even though it would allow me to be in school with all of my friends. Well, all of my friends but one. My best friend, Robert, had decided to go to the University of Ontario Institute of Technology, in Oshawa. Now, my marks were good, but science and math are not areas I excel in or want to pursue, so I could not go to UOIT–but I knew that I would be happiest where my friend was. The perfect answer: TrentU Durham.

Choosing to go to this university was simple; convincing my parents, and myself, that it was worth it was a little more complicated. A lot of fears arose about the validity of such a small university, especially considering I’d be moving three hours away from home to attend it. The March open house relieved many of these fears for me: the tour showed me the benefits of a small classroom and the academic advisors showed me the adequacy of a TrentU Durham degree. Most importantly, I got the chance to meet professors. Whatever fears I had went away when I met Rita Bodes, from that point on I was hooked.

From there I did whatever I could to make my dream of going to Oshawa with Robert and Rita a reality. I signed up for residence (yes, TrentU Durham has a residence). It was the same residence as that of UOIT, and so Robert would be using it. Robert and I made sure that we were roomed together. This is how I became the first Dobbs boy to leave Powassan, and North Bay, and I have never regretted it.

If you are interested in learning more about what I saw at TrentU Durham that blew my mind, stop by the Explore Durham Day on May 13, 2012, from 10am – 2 pm.  For more information and to register, click here: Explore Days.

Leave a Reply

