Written by: Aliisa Moffat

For some people, change is something they try to avoid at every cost. But the reality is that change is inevitable. Starting and finishing my first year of university has changed a lot in my life, from changing how many hours I work each week to becoming a different person.  Throughout my first year I learnt many lessons and made plenty of mistakes, and they all helped me to come to the decision to make a big change in my life. I am sad to announce that I have officially withdrawn from TrentU Durham.

Don’t get me wrong–Trent is a good school, it just isn’t where I belong right now.  I was working towards a history degree and when I first started I couldn’t be happier, but as the days went on I saw my smile started to fade and the passion I had for history was disappearing. But the one thing I was sure about is that I wanted to be a teacher of some sort and that I wanted to work with children.

So I started researching schools and programs that I could possibly do and that I would be interested in and I found this program known as “ECE” or Early Childhood Education. There were seats open to be able to start in September of 2016, so I applied and got accepted into the program. I waited to make my decision between Trent and Durham College, and in the end I followed my heart and accepted my offer to Durham College, and sent in a request to withdraw from Trent.

It is a bittersweet moment: I’m happy to finally be on the tracks of doing something that I have always dreamed of doing, but at the same time TrentU Durham was like my second home. I made some amazing friends and had some amazing experiences like Pen Pals and the Student Life Blog, and met some cool profs (and some profs that are just down right strange) and that made it worth the while.

I don’t regret going to TrentU Durham in any way, because it helped me to find out what I really wanted to do. It showed me that following my dreams is the best thing for me and that sometimes where you think you belong is not always the case.

Posted by billienikathleen

Leave a Reply

