Ways that I’m Coping with my Summertime Blues

Written by: Katie Cassin

Since school has been out for the summer, I’ve had a bitter taste in my mouth for this season that most students look forward to. While kids in grade school used to bounce off of the walls, counting down the days until summer vacation, I was the odd one that dreaded it. I loved, and continue to love, school. I love the routine, the familiar faces, all of it.

As crazy as that sounds, I know I’m not alone, and I know that summertime can often be tough for many students for many different reasons. But for me, the toughest thing about this time off is trying to keep myself busy. Summer can be boring and lonely. In the past, I’ve usually just accepted this for what it is, but this summer I’ve tested out a few things that have kept me from feeling completely overwhelmed by my boredom, and, to my surprise, some of them are actually working.

First, I’ve made a list of all the places I want to visit, and things I want to do during the summer. It’s been helpful to me not only in the way that it reminds me of all of the things that I set out to do, but also makes me realize that when I’m bored and have a few hours to myself, that there are certainly things to do. It’s got all of the cool movie theatres I want to hit, restaurants, local attractions, walking trails, and lots of other stuff.

Second, I go for long walks to clear my head. Even though I love to do this year round, the summertime is a perfect time to do this for me, because of the free time I have, and the beautiful weather.

Third, I have made it a point to read at least one thing a day. I know, this sounds vague, but that’s all that I can motivate myself to do right now. If it’s only one simple news article a day, I’m happy. It just makes me feel a little less lazy.

Fourth, I find a new hobby every summer. Now, this year, it’s very small, and perhaps a little ridiculous, but I have focused my attention on finding new ways to make my lunches that I pack for work healthier and more fun to eat. I spend a lot of time looking for healthier baking alternatives, and scrolling through recipes to feed my hunger to stay busy.

Fifth, since the last week of classes, I have made a point to have at least one thing scheduled in my day that I must leave my house for. Whether it was something as simple as going to the gym for an hour, or something as big as spending the day at work or out on a day trip, it has kept me looking forward to something in the day, rather than beating myself up over the fact that I haven’t done anything all day.

Even though I dread the summer, I’ve learned that I need to remind myself to enjoy, and you should too! I know it can be tough, but when we’re finished school, we’ll miss our summer break…

All of us. Even me!

Leave a Reply

