Katherine’s Book Review: Before I Fall

Written by: Katherine Nocera

“So many things become beautiful when you really look.”

― Lauren Oliver, Before I Fall

Hello everyone! As you can tell, summertime has officially arrived! It’s that wonderful time of year when you can smell the delicious scent of your neighbours BBQ, people are swimming in outdoor pools and the sun is shining so delightfully bright. This is a perfect summer day for most people, but for me, there is one thing missing….A book in hand, ready to read! Yes, its summertime which translates into “summer-read all the books I can in 2 months-time.”  Recently I’ve read a book by Lauren Oliver, Before I Fall, and I just couldn’t wait to write a blog post about it!

**ATTENTION: THE FOLLOWING PARAGRAPH CONTAINS NO SPOLIER ALERTS! **

Quick Summary

For high school senior, Samantha Kingston, February 12 –“Cupid Day”-is one big party celebrated with roses and popularity privileges. In fact, to Samantha Kingston life in general is one big party. That is until, on the night of February 12, she is killed in a terrible car accident. However, she still wakes up the next morning, and the morning after that. She repeats the day of February 12 seven times, until she realizes that she has the power to make changes. It is then that Samantha Kingston, the girl who appeared to have a picture perfect life, realizes that she, in fact, did not have it all.

My Personal Review

By the description, it is apparent that the book shares many similarities with the movie Groundhog Day. Having watched and loved the aspect behind the movie, I could already tell that I would love the concept behind the book. So, first in my personal review: I loved the whole idea of reliving a day over because it’s something I am sure we all think about!

I also really enjoyed Oliver’s twist by making the time looped day be the protagonist’s last day before she died. I thought that the twist was an interesting way to present the story because we often never think about our last day and the events of that day because it’s obviously an uncomfortable thing to think about. But, with that being said, the book shares an amazing message of the importance of living each day as if it was your last.

This book was an overall simple and enjoyable read that unconsciously had me reflecting on my own life. When you’re searching for a book to read by the pool or on the beach this summer, be sure to check it out!

On the “Katherine Book Rating” scale this novel gets a 5 out of 5! ☺

Ciao.xx

Leave a Reply

