Written by: Katherine Nocera

Hey everyone! As some of you may know I am entering my second year of university. Wow, time sure flew by! However, I do vividly remember my thoughts and concerns last year at this exact same time. How will first year of university be? Will I even survive my first day? Ok, I was a bit over dramatic. But, these were all questions that popped into my first year student mind. I am sure some of you reading this are entering first year and may even be asking these same questions. Luckily for you, I’ve compiled a list of things that you can expect in your first year of university! You should expect…

#1 Reading. Reading. And More Reading.

One of the things that I did not really expect while entering first year is the amount of reading that is packed into each course. Some professors require you to read one chapter before class, some may even require you to read two or three. Don’t let this scare you though, you do have a week before the next class. This should mean that you have time to space it out evenly throughout the week. DO NOT leave it until the last minute!

#2 An increase in responsibility.

Another thing to expect from university is that it will drastically improve your independence and responsibility. The one important thing that I have learned from first year is that help doesn’t find you. Instead, you must seek help yourself. This may seem scary but it’s the truth. If you are struggling in a course, for instance, make it a priority to seek aid from your professor at their office hours!

#3 A pleasant surprise.

First year can be stressful but don’t count out the fact that it can be fun and exciting. Throughout the year, you can expect to meet new people, learn awesome new things and become part of a community.

I hope these experiences from my \first year help ease your university worries! See you in September! ☺

Ciao.xx

Posted by billienikathleen

Leave a Reply

