Written by: Taylor Dobbs

Hey! Taylor here, hope you enjoyed your summer even if, like me, you had to work through the whole thing. Now that school is almost back in session, I thought that I would share some tips on how to get the most out of your university experience that really helped me last year and which I plan to use again now that I am going into my third year.

First, and most importantly: get involved! I know that you have been told this before but that’s because it is so important. I can’t stress enough how much getting involved can positively shape your time at Trent Durham. My first year at Trent was good, it opened my eyes to new experiences and made me realize how awesome being independent was. However it was not until the end of the year that I became aware of how much fun other students were having in all the different clubs at our university and how bonded they all seemed. I took that view to heart in my second year and joined the newly formed Improv club. It was the best decision I have ever made, the friends I made there are some of my best and the fun times at those meetings I will never forget. Going into third year, I am ecstatic at the amount of clubs and school groups I have joined and I urge you to, if you have not already, step out of your comfort zone and into a club, you won’t regret it.

Second, if you’re like me and you are not from the Durham region, or you are not living at home, or you are cooking for yourself (yay adulthood) there are a few things that have helped me that I think could also benefit you. For me personally, I survive off of buying things that will last pretty long, for example, bulk frozen foods. If you are looking for fresh foods, which can be more expensive, there are a couple different things you can do to save money. The biggest thing would be to use the tons of sales grocery stores have and plan your meals around what’s on sale. To assist with this, the app Flipp would be a good one to check out: it gives you flyers, weekly sales and other helpful things to save money at many different grocery stores. The resources are there to help you save money and eat well, and the proper food plan will go a long way to making your return to school less stressful.

Finally to make going back to school a fun experience I would highly recommend finding a stress-relieving hobby and, most importantly, keeping with it. It doesn’t matter what your hobby is–mine is reading–as long as it makes you happy and keeps you calm. Don’t stop doing it because you think school is making you too busy: making time for your own mental and physical health needs is a top priority and it is important to remember that heading into the new school year.

I hope any of these tips help making your transition back into school a happy one, enjoy university while you can!

Posted by billienikathleen

Leave a Reply

