Written by: Jessica Geer

Everyone has expectations when it comes to their Post-Secondary education. We all want good grades, we want to graduate, we want a career in our field of study.

But what happens when things get side tracked? What happens when life gets in the way, or when you feel like there is more out there for your education?

My name is Jessica Geer and I am a Trent University transfer student. Throughout my blog posts I will be telling you my journey from beginning to end. I assume you are wondering how I ended up here.

In 2011, I graduated high school and decided to pursue a post-secondary education as a Social Service Worker at Centennial College in Scarborough, Ontario. I started college when I was 18 years old. I was still very immature, and once I got my first taste of college I believed it would be a breeze, as it was very similar to high school. I consistently passed my classes with mediocre grades and believed that I would still be getting the same diploma has an individual who gets straight A’s. This mentality continued on up until my final semester when I was asked by a close friend “Hey, did you apply for University yet?”. “University?! Nah I’m okay with my diploma”.

I graduated in June 2013 and registered myself as a licensed Social Service Worker in Ontario and began my job hunt. Unfortunately, my job hunt never ended up being successful. It has been three years since I graduated from college. Throughout the last three years almost every single job post for employment in the Social Services field required minimally a Bachelors of Social Work degree which, at the moment, I don’t have. I decided to apply for university.

While looking through multiple universities, almost every school required at least a 3.0 GPA (which I have) but, because of how competitive the program was, I did not meet the criteria and I was declined acceptance to York University and Ryerson University.

When I was almost at my breaking point I decided to try another institution—Trent University. I applied in July 2016, assuming the worst, but still having a glimpse of hope in mind that I would get in. It would be stating the obvious to say that I was accepted, because that is how I am able to write this post.

Overall, these posts will be about my journey, including the ups and the downs, and everything in between. I personally know that life’s path is never a straight and smooth road to success. My life so far has been quite the ride. I would love if you would take this journey with me on my path to educational success.  My blog posts will give you a first-hand glimpse into my life as a fresh transfer student and what positive and negative things I might be faced with. I hope you can relate to my posts and take from my experiences to help you along your path, too.

Posted by billienikathleen

One Comment

  1. I really enjoyed and could relate to everything you had to say about your transition to university from college. I am relieved to know that I am not alone on this journey and excited to read more about your Trent University experience as a transfer student.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

