Study Snacks

Written by: Katie Cassin

School makes me hungry. I don’t know what it is, but 5 minutes into almost every one of my lectures, I am graced with the shockingly audible sound of a growling stomach. And yes, it is always that kind of growl where I have to look around me and whisper my apologies.

Sure, sometimes packing snacks can be great, but it can be a little time consuming when I get too into it, and usually I forget them by the front door. The café is always a great option, but sometimes I want to go big. It’s easy to think that there’s nothing around campus, because we are so neatly tucked away once you get off of Highway 2, but there really are some great places to eat nearby, that are always my go-to stops for when hunger hits. I’ve got a few favourites…

1)   Johnny’s Original Eatery

850 King St W, Oshawa

 As an intense breakfast person, Johnny’s is the perfect place to hang out in the morning. This diner serves great portions of food that seem like they were made for students. It doesn’t hurt that it’s only a 3 minute walk from campus, and there’s a student discount if you show your student ID!

2)   Cup of Tea Bakery

25 Thickson Rd N, Whitby

 Okay, so occasionally I’m not so healthy, and I’ll eat a cupcake (or two, or three…) in between classes. This bakery is at Dundas and Thickson, just beside the KFC. They have a beautiful display case of desserts (all peanut free!) and many loose-leaf teas to choose from. It’s my number one place to go to reward myself after a particularly difficult paper or presentation.

3)   Whiskey John’s

843 King St W, Oshawa

This is a great place that I’ve hit up with some friends after class, because once again, it’s close and very inexpensive. It’s a great place for pub food, just beside the Ford dealership on Highway 2.

4)   The Lil Organic Kitchen

1618 Dundas St E, Whitby

I don’t think I’ve seen so many options in one place! It’s insane. This place is great for grabbing sandwiches, smoothies, salads, and baked goods, just to name a few. It may be a little bit pricey, but if you have food allergies like me, or any dietary restrictions, they are the most accommodating people around. Luckily it’s just a quick drive, in the same plaza as Cup of Tea Bakery.

5)   Bang Bang Burrito

1812 Simcoe St N, Oshawa

I know, I know, this isn’t exactly close to our campus, but it is close for Trent students living on UOIT residence! Plus, if you live locally, it’s worth the drive or bus ride. Burritos, quesadilla’s, soft tacos – all the comfort food I need when I need a study break. And although I have yet to get their logo tattooed on my body to get free burritos for a year, it’s a great meal for a crazy study day.

Comment below if you know of any good food near campus!

Leave a Reply

