Written by: Emma Fish

Well guys, it’s that time of year again. Second semester is starting and it is time to start getting our butts back to classes. If you are like me and your first semester ended a little earlier then you have probably been itching to get back for the last few weeks. I know I have.

Getting back into the swing of things can be difficult. Textbooks are a pain to buy. All those room numbers to remember, ugh, so much effort to put into five classes for 15 hours a week or so. After the first week back, readings already start piling up and you can already feel the little stress monster nibbling on your ear.

All I can say is that when this starts, remember that you are still a human being, you are allowed to take breaks. I realized how important that simple of a thing was after my first year. It was always school work, clubs, and work, repeat. But if you don’t make time for yourself then how do you expect to not feel stressed?

It can very well be different for you, but I know for me reading was how I managed to make additional time for myself. I know you are probably thinking, “But we already read so much, I’m kind of tired of it.” If you enjoy it enough you will still find the joy in it no matter what. First year I attempted to read through The Stand by Stephen King over the course of the year, it’s like a thousand pages, why not? It was definitely a comfort to have something that I can escape into so easily.

However, there are also many other ways you can make time for yourself, reading isn’t the only way. There is music, both playing and listening; writing; working out; going outside; making time to hang out with friends; and taking a moment to just mediate. So really, the possibilities are endless, you just have to reach out and catch one.

I guess I will leave you with one last tidbit, guys. Although we are students, we definitely are not robots. We can malfunction at times. We need to be rebooted occasionally. It’s normal. Breaks are normal. We need time to just sit back and think, “Whoa, I’ve done all this already.” Be impressed with yourself. Don’t push yourself to the brink because there is an edge, and trust me, you don’t want to fall over it.

Posted by billienikathleen

Leave a Reply

