Written by: Will Nathan

willnathanI attended Trent University Durham from 2004-2007, before completing my final year in Peterborough in 2008. When I came out of high school I really had no idea what to major in, or what career I wanted to pursue. I started out as an undecided major for my first year and took a variety of courses until ultimately deciding that Psychology was for me. The faculty and students at TrentU Durham were great and really held true to the culture of Trent University of not being just a number, but a person. I have very fond memories of my time at Trent and although my career has lead me to Technology Sales, the most important thing I learned in university is how to learn. This may seem like a no brainer, but regardless of what kind of student you are, you learn your own strengths and your own weaknesses, and the sooner you accept those the better off you will be.

To offer advice to those students still at Trent, it would be to enjoy your time in school and meet and connect with as many people as possible. I still am stubborn, but when I was in my early 20s I thought I knew everything. I didn’t always listen to the advice of professors and thought for sure I’d get that job I wanted when I graduated. Trent can give you the knowledge to hit the ground running in your profession, but the full time job world really is about who you know. If you’re not on LinkedIn get on there NOW and start adding everyone you know, meet, come across, etc. You never know when someone can help you out in your job search. Just be sure if you make it to send the elevator back down.


Will Nathan is a TrentU Durham alumni and now works in technology sales.
Feel free to connect with him on LinkedIn

 Originally posted on the Student Life Blog, February 19, 2016

Posted by billienikathleen

Leave a Reply

