Summer Packable Lunches: Part One

Written by: Katie Cassin

I’m not very fond of suntanning, wearing flip flops, or anything under a ¾ sleeve, but there is one thing that I can get on board with as the summer season creeps up on us, and that is the delicious food that the season graces us with. I seem to feel better during the summer, thanks the fact that I eat more fresh, healthy, and whole foods as we enter prime product season.

Summertime can be a busy time, so I like to make sure that I set myself up for success by taking the time to think about the healthy meals that I have to pack for myself for the day, and make sure they’re things that are appealing to me. Because what’s the point of eating healthy if it tastes like garbage?

So I thought I’d share some of the recipes I’ve acquired over the past few years. They’ve either helped me lose weight, maintain my weight, or at other times simply made me feel fueled, filled, and energized. And here it goes, a day of summery packed lunches…

Breakfast: Citrus Greek Yogurt

It’s so simple, it hardly needs an explanation. But it’s definitely one of my favourites! I usually take ⅓- ½ cup of plain Greek yogurt, cut up about ¼ of an orange in small pieces, mix that all in with a small drizzle of honey, and top it with a few chia seeds. This gives me the morning boost that I need, packed with protein that will keep me full for a while.

Morning snack: Homemade Granola Bars

Okay, I’ve been so proud of this recipe, I’ve been telling everyone about it!

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • ¼ brown rice cereal
  • ¼ quinoa puffed cereal
  • 1 cup pitted dates
  • Any mix-ins you like! (I like cranberries, chocolate, and coconut)

The first thing I do here is toast the oats and the cereal for a better flavour at 375 F in the oven until you can smell them toasting. Once they’re done, I set them aside to cool. Next I take the pitted dates and put them in the food processor to purée them. If they’re being stubborn, I usually put in a teaspoon of water at a time until it blends well. This will be the glue that holds the bars together. Once the oats are cool, I just mix it all together. Be bold, mix in some weird combinations, they work surprisingly well sometimes!

Now that the morning is done, I feel energized and ready to go on with my day! Be sure to look out for what lunch will include in part 2.

Leave a Reply

