Movies to watch during the Spoopy/Spooky season

Photos and written by Amy Bridges

We have hit my favourite season, its spoopy season!! Even though spoopy season normally doesn’t end in my house since there is a 6-foot Frankenstein standing on my staircase, it doesn’t mean I don’t get excited when it is actual spoopy season. I thought I would give my list of must watch movies for the season if you aren’t like my household and will watch them in the middle of July just cause. I decided to split it up into Spoopy and Spooky sections for those of you who don’t like the blood and scary parts of this season but still like to celebrate and be a part of it. Some of these films can be found on Trent’s new Audio Cine Films resource (You can get there from this link ).

Spoopy Movie List

  • Hocus Pocus
  • The Nightmare Before Christmas (It is both Halloween and Christmas …. Fight me)
  • Twitches and Twitches Too
  • The Scream Team
  • Haunted Mansion
  • Halloweentown, Halloweentown II and Halloweentown High
  • Scooby-doo anything
  • The Addams Family and The Addams Family Values
  • It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown
  • Ghostbusters and Ghostbusters II

Spooky Movie List

Some of these movies in my opinion should go in the Spoopy list but I have been told that my view on what is Spooky is skewed so I am putting them here in this list so at least they are on one of the lists.

  • Rocky Horror Picture Show
  • Beetlejuice
  • Practical Magic
  • The Crow (This is such a beautiful movie in its filming and its story)
  • Young Frankenstein
  • Dracula dead and loving it
  • Sleepy Hollow
  • Ginger Snaps
  • Ghost Ship
  • Thirteen Ghosts (one of my favourite ghost films)
  • The originals of Frankenstein, Dracula, The Mummy and the Wolfman
  • Abbot and Costello versions of the Originals (If you want a good laugh)
  • The traditional ones like
    • Poltergeist
    • The Exorcist
    •  Halloween series
    • Friday the 13th    series
    • Nightmare on Elm Street series
    • Carrie
    • The Shining (Which is one of my favourites)
    • Scream series
    • Hellraiser series
    • The Chucky series
  • Evil Dead series
  • Idle Hands (hilarious and gory at the same time)
  • Paranormal Activity series
  • The Craft
  • Blair Witch Project
  • The Witches of Eastwick
  • Fright Night

I’m going to stop listing here or we would be here forever going through the list instead of actually watching the movies. So, I will leave you with some of my favourites and I will say happy spoopy season!! I’m off to make a nice cozy tea and I am going to pick one of these movies to watch.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑