Managing working and going to university at the same time

Written by Amy Bridges

While in a perfect world you would be able to go to school and do just that, go to school, but it doesn’t always work out that way. It definitely hasn’t for me. I have had to work and go to school at the same time since high school. It is not an ideal situation, but I have learned to make it work.

I have dealt with many different types of jobs while I have gone to school and the best route I have found, is to work for the school itself. Most schools have a student work program and unless you already have a job you have been doing, I suggest trying to get one of those positions. I have found that jobs outside of the school are not as flexible when it comes to your school schedule, so it adds a new stress onto an already stressful situation. Working for Trent University has been one of the best decisions I have ever made (other then my decision to go to Trent University in the first place). Not only am I getting experience in different fields (since I have worked 4 different positions now), but I am able to provide for my family at the same time. There have been moments where I just needed to focus on school and because I was working for the school taking that time off was much easier than when I didn’t. At one point I had to quit my job (it was at a coffee shop that you can find on every corner in Canada) because they refused to accommodate a mandatory event I needed to be at. I have never had to deal with this stress when it came to working for the school.

               Working while at school has taught me a lot. One being that scheduling and having good time management skills are needed. Two is that you can do more then you think you can, just take it one step at a time. I also have found that since I have had multiple jobs throughout my post-secondary career, I have become accustomed to always doing something or doing multiple things at once (since I am soaking dishes and writing this at the same time). But with that comes burnout. I have had to deal with burnout a lot more than some of my friends who don’t work while going to school. I have learned to do better with this by making sure I take time for myself. If it means taking a day off school or work to just breathe, while at the time seemed detrimental it was helpful because after the break, I was able to tackle things much better. It also helps if you just take a couple of hours to do something just for yourself or even just buying yourself a treat here and there … it helps and is needed.  

               Working and going to university or college is doable. It is just necessary to make sure when you are scheduling yourself you don’t forget to add in time to do your homework and have at least a couple of hours to yourself. Even though I have had to sacrifice some things like having a very active social life it has been manageable and worth it. Without working I wouldn’t have been able to do university and for that I am very grateful because without university I wouldn’t be following my passion. Even if you must work a job you hate (for me it’s retail) just remember it is the steppingstone to your future it isn’t your forever, it is just your right now.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑