Why I chose Trent University Durham

Written and photographed by Jordan Murray


“You pretty much have your pick of any school”.

This is what my guidance counsellor told me in the fall semester of my senior year. I don’t mean to come off as cocky or prideful, but I was a great student in high school and was accepted to every university that I applied to. I graduated from grade 12 with a 91% average and was eligible for a scholarship at each respective university. As my guidance counsellor had said, I could have gone anywhere that I wanted. So why did I choose Trent University, and why the Durham campus?

Given that it is now that post-secondary applications are being submitted, I thought now would be a great time to share my story. To be honest, I knew exactly what I wanted to do but had no idea where I wanted to go to school. Just to be safe, I applied to eight universities across Ontario and figured I could decide later, once I had received my admissions decisions. While I waited, I attended two open houses – one of which was at Trent Durham.

My boyfriend and I at the open house!

From the second I stepped on campus, I had a good feeling. The campus was smaller and more intimate, which I quite enjoyed. Every student I came across was helpful and personable, and I really got a feel for what the Durham campus is all about. I left the open house with Trent Durham as my first pick. Then, just a little later in December of 2018, I received an offer of early admission to Trent Durham. From that point forward, I was pretty set on my post-secondary path. 

Every offer of admission that came after only solidified why I wanted to go to Trent. The schools were nice, but too big for my liking. I had already experienced what the Durham campus had to offer and my mind was made up. I accepted my offer of admission and continued on to attend the Dean’s Academic Scholars Dinner in March of 2019. I got to meet some great professors and staff members at this dinner.

The photograph a Trent student took of me for being one of the first recipients of the Durham Scholar’s Circle scholarship.

Below, I have compiled a list of why I think Trent Durham was the choice for me, and why it could be the choice for other prospective students of all ages. 


  • Small personable classes
  • As a new student from any walk of life, the smaller size makes the university experience a little less daunting 
  • Free on-site parking 
  • Tuition includes a bus pass and the campus is close to bus stops
  • Trent Durham is right off the highway for an easy commute 
  • Diverse student life
  • The campus is smaller and all in one place so you don’t get too confused trying to find a class or an office
  • Students make meaningful connections to the Trent Durham community; you are a person, not just a number

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑