Classes are in … now what? How to deal with a hybrid semester

Photos by and Written by Amy Bridges

Today was my second day back on campus and it still feels a bit odd to be back here. It is anxiety filled and yet it feels comforting and familiar at the same time. It is an odd realization. Since most of us are going to have to get used to this hybrid type of semester with both online and in-person classes its going to be an interesting year. To hopefully help with this transition, I want to go over how to navigate a hybrid year of university. 

For In-person 

1. Breathe

While this is easier said then done, we all need to figure out how to calm our anxieties about being back in-person again. Trent has been doing their part to help keep the community and everyone on the campus safe by placing safeguards such as vaccine mandates and adding extra air purifiers into the building. Knowing that Trent has been proactive and has been committed to doing their best to keep the campus safe has helped ease some of my nerves. Another part of how I have calmed some of my concerns and have curbed some of my anxiety is by being prepared. I have hand sanitizer and backup masks in all of my bags. I have been vigilant in washing my hands and very aware of where I am in relation to other people. This hasn’t fully removed my anxieties but it has helped to repeat these things to myself when my anxiety fights back. 

2. Bring extras 

When it comes to online you have things right at your fingertips but that isn’t the case with in-person classes. You have to bring things with you when it is in-person and I have found it is always better to bring a spare and not need it then to need it and not have it. Whether it is extra paper, pens, some change for more water, or a charger for your phone, laptop or anything else you are using. Yes it is going to make your bag heavy and possibly more bulky than you would like but you will thank me. It can be a lifesaver when your battery starts to die even though you left the house with 84% and you thought you would be good but in reality not so much. 

For Online 

1. Practice or do a test run

Test all of your equipment beforehand. Even if you think you are good and know what you are doing because of last semester… do it anyway. Do a test Zoom call either by yourself or with some friends to make sure that everything is running smoothly. You don’t want to have to worry about passwords and updates while trying to get into your class on time. Check all of you passwords and make sure that you have everything set up and ready to go. 

2. Get ready even if they can’t see you 

Get dressed as if you were going outside. I know it sounds silly but it makes a difference. Last year I found I was more attentive and aware of being in the class when I was dressed for the class versus wearing pj bottoms and a proper going outside shirt. I found that even though they weren’t going to see my legs in the zoom call I dressed as if they were going to. It helped make it feel more real and not as disjointed when I got ready for the day. It also kept me motivated and helped with my mental health to keep a routine. 

For Both 

1. Schedule everything

I normally schedule everything anyways just because it helps me to remember all the things I need to get done. With both in-person and online classes scheduling is definitely needed! I found that if I didn’t schedule it, it didn’t get done. Even for the online classes that don’t have a designated time, make one. Set a time for yourself to do those classes so that they aren’t lost in the readings and essays of other classes and you end up scrambling at the end to get all of it finished in time. Scheduling those classes also helps to make the semester seem more like you are in university instead of just something you do online. 

2. Stay flexible 

Even though we are currently in a hybrid setup for the fall semester it does not mean that it will stay this way. Unfortunately it is not guaranteed. It may change mid way through the semester or for the winter semester, and with that in mind we all need to stay flexible and be ready for the possible switch back to online only classes. As much as I have hope for the future, things don’t always work out the way we want them to so we need to adapt to those changes. 

Even though this year still looks a little different with everyone in masks, signs on the floors and hand sanitizer stations every 6 feet it is still nice to see smiling eyes and actual people at the campus this year. I look forward to possibly seeing some of you in person this year! 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑