A Day in the life of a mature student at Trent University

Photos and written by Amy Bridges

Welcome to a day in my life. You are going to follow me to one of my 2 jobs and my first in-person class in over a year and a half.

Monday started out at 6am and eventually I did get out of bed finally at 6:16. It was a rough morning, but I eventually started to get ready and get out of my pjs.

The next realization was that I needed to pick a tea for the morning. Normally it is a big production and I pick the perfect one well I guess in a sense I did that here too. But I was too tired to do anything fancy and so a normal decaf tea was going to do just fine. So, I started the kettle and went back upstairs and packed my bag for work. By now the sun was finally starting to peep through the trees.

Now that I was ready and packed I quickly made some breakfast which consisted of strawberry Greek yogurt, gluten free granola and some honey, along with my tea before I ran out the door by 7:10am.

In the kerfuffle of getting ready, I watered the only plant I have been able to keep alive so far and I made sure to grab my manual pockets which is technically a cooler version of a fanny pack (since most of my pants still don’t have pockets) and grabbed a mask from our mask cubby.

Once I got off the bus I walk up to the campus and bypass the archaeology site from this summer and the new residence that was built.

Once I did my screening and walked past the art display it was time to go to work!

After work at 11:30 I stopped in at Chapters and grabbed a book before I went home. Instead of taking the bus my mom ended up driving me home. But not before having a conversation with the cashier about how pretty the pages were and how it just makes the book that much better with it has the rough vintage looking pages.

Now for the second tea of the day. This one is fancier since I have some more time. I decided to go with some back to school, fall vibes and made a loose-leaf pumpkin tea from David’s Tea. While my tea was steeping, I made my partner and myself lunch. I made him some pot stickers and coleslaw and I had leftover pizza with veggies and dip.

Then got to work on some of my homework for the class I had later in the day. Once I finished that I moved on to work on one of my online classes. While doing homework we had some good old fashioned Ghostbusters cartoons on to continue with the fall mood along with Halloween candy because who doesn’t do homework without study snacks?

While navigating my online classes I went through my many lists, both in my bullet journal and on post-its to make sure that I wasn’t going to miss anything.

Next, because I needed another one, I made another tea and some cereal because who doesn’t eat cereal at 5pm.

After dinner and watching a bit of My name is Earl it was time to crash and get ready for Tuesday. Good night!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑