An Ode to Post-its

Photos and written by Amy Bridges

Last semester I wrote an Ode to Tacos …. This semester it is my Ode to Post-its. I use them for EVERYTHING. They are even in every single bag I own and sometimes even my coat pockets.

While Post-its for some may be a luxury item when it comes to office or school supplies, for me they are a necessity. They are something that I will always keep stocked or have multiple packages of to make sure that I am fully stocked. I do have my preferences for types or colours of them but I haven’t found a Post-it I don’t like yet (that’s a lie there are some non-brand name ones I do not like).

When it comes to Post-its I am very particular about the brand – they have to be Post-it brand or nothing else. I find the other brands either don’t have environmentally friendly paper or glue, or they either damage my books or don’t stick at all. Since I use my Post-its in my textbooks I am very particular about what ones I use. While I find no matter what brand if the textbook has shiny paper there will be a residue that I have to rub off, Post-its are still the easiest to remove. If the textbooks have paper paper and not shiny plasticy paper there is no residue if you take the Post-its out. I personally don’t like taking them out, because then I lose the note I was making, but sometimes taking them out is necessary.

Since I use so many, I’ll give you a rundown what I use each type of note for.

Flags

These are my favourite and most used of all of my post-its
  • Note taking in textbooks
  • Differing the weeks in my notes
  • Bookmarks when needed (but I found new bookmarks so this doesn’t happen as often anymore
  • Small stickems allow for versatile use

Square Blocks

  • Bigger notes in my written notes mostly for study purposes
  • Taking down quick notes like phone numbers or doctor’s appointments while I’m talking on the phone
  • Notes to myself as reminders
  • Big stickems allow for a heavier duty bond

Medium sized lined notepads

  • Grocery lists
  • Homework lists
  • Quick notes to jot down then shove in my textbook and or other books
  • Big stickems means it won’t fall off my phone and long paper means bigger grocery lists for

To Do List

  • Cleaning lists
  • To do lists
  • Big stickem with magnetic back means I can keep it in the fridge while I check off the boxes

Wipe Board Post-it

  • Tea catalogue of what I have out on the shelf and what I have in the cupboard
  • Really big stickem means it doesn’t come off of my cupboard doors and the wipe off part means I can change my stock easily

I didn’t always use Post-its but now that I have found out their beauty in so many facets of my life I can’t go back. They will always be a necessity in my bags and office supply stash.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑