Dealing with a set back

Photos and Written By Amy Bridges

                On Tuesday morning at 7am after the rain had frozen and the snow blanketed the ground, I left my house and started my walk to the bus stop. Little did I know I was going to fall and hit the pavement three times before even making it to my bus stop. Within 20 minutes I had slammed into the ground at full force and by the last fall my body gave up trying to protect me.

                In 2007 I was in a car accident that destroyed my left knee and put me in wheelchair. I eventually moved to crutches, and then a cane, then back to a wheelchair and back to my cane. This happened for a couple of years but eventually I got to a point where I didn’t need any assistance anymore. During the year that shall not be named I was even able to do yoga and stand on just my left leg.

                Well, those 3 falls put me back and today I am being stabilized by KT Tape (kinesiology tape) and my trusty not so liked cane is sitting beside me. I am covered in bruises, and I am swollen, my one shoe won’t fit on properly because my ankle is still swollen, I have my limp back and I am in pain. I feel defeated.

                After a couple of days, I am working on fighting that feeling of defeat by taking the same stance that I have had on the last couple of years – its better than zero. When we first moved to online my grades took a hit and my mental health took a hit with it. To keep my sanity, I started to use the mantra of its better than zero. So, I only got 7 out of 10 instead of the 8 or 9 I used to get … at least its still better than zero. It has helped my anxiety and my mental health while dealing with the constant change of online to pin person and the hybrid versions that I have slowly adapted to.

                So, as I look at my cane in defeat … I am telling myself at least its better than zero. I can still walk, I’m just slower. I can still move around without my cane it is just here as a precaution and again I am just slower … and less graceful (not that I was that graceful to begin with but hey). I can even get in and out of the bathtub by myself. So – its better than zero.

                Hopefully you won’t have to use it but if you ever feel like you haven’t done enough or you get a moment of defeat or a set back feel free to use – its better than zero.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑